Recently, there was a story that spread across the country about an 11-year-old girl in New York who was severely burned while at a sleepover. While the 12-year-old who caused the injury was arrested and charged with felony assault, the question that many had was whether or not the parents could be held liable for the actions of their child.
According to the CDC’s National Center for Health Statistics, between the years of 2000 and 2014 there were 813,862 divorces and annulments in the United States – a rate of 3.2 per 1,000 people. An uncontested divorce takes place when:
- Both spouses have no disagreements over any financial or divorce-related issues, i.e., division of marital property, child custody and support or spousal support, and
- One spouse either agrees to the divorce, or does not appear in the divorce action.
When both spouses in a marriage agree to divorce, they can save both time and money when they file for an uncontested divorce through streamlined court procedures.
There are over 13 million custodial single parents in the United States, and almost half of them have some kind of child support agreement in place, whether it is a legal or informal agreement. There are often disputes between parents on whether child support is being spent in the right way and whether the amount of child support is enough to cover a child’s expenses. Therefore, it’s important to know exactly what child support should pay for.
Any type of criminal charges is serious and should be treated as such. If you are facing charges of kidnapping, the best thing you can do is to hire a criminal defense attorney for help. However, learning more about the different types of kidnappings can also be beneficial.
This is considered the most basic type of kidnapping and can be done in virtually all parts of the world with very little preparation, and a low risk of failure. In most cases, kidnappers will try to target local business people or their families – individuals who are thought to be “well off.”
The fact is, everyone makes mistakes. For some individuals, the mistakes bring them into a confrontation with the law. The good news is that Florida law has recognized that, in some situations, someone facing criminal charges deserves to have a second chance.
In some counties in Florida, there are two programs offered that defer some offenders away from the law and criminal justice system if they have never been in trouble with the law before. If you are a first time offender, you may be able to gain benefits from these programs.
Even though a military divorce isn’t always more complicated than traditional divorces, it is essential to understand that there are several different federal and state laws that may apply to the situation. For example, the protections offered by the Soldiers and Sailors Civil Relief Act, or SSCRA, have been expanded and reaffirmed in the SCRA – Servicemembers Civil Relief Act. This law states that any active service member is given the time they need to handle all obligations they have to the military.
A plea agreement is a contract that has been negotiated between the lawyer for a person charged with a crime and the prosecutor. This agreement spells out a sentence that has been accepted by both parties involved.
Then, this agreed upon sentence is recommended to the court. It is up to the court whether or not it is accepted or denied.
It is a basic understanding when it comes to criminal law – if you are caught doing the same thing again, the court is probably going to hand down a harsher punishment if you are convicted. You may believe it is the same situation for drunk driving in Florida – if you are caught driving drunk more than one time, then your penalties are going to accumulate. In many situations this is not always the case; however, in other situations, the look-back period in the state of Florida prevents older DUI convictions from counting against you.
In the state of Florida, police officers use breathalyzer tests to determine if a motorist is driving while under the influence of alcohol. If the test is taken and the results show a BAL – breath alcohol level – of 0.08 or more, the person is considered to be legally intoxicated according to the DUI laws in Florida. At this point, the police have the evidence necessary to arrest the individual for DUI.
The state of Florida has come under a lot of criticism in recent years for the number of children being charged as adults for any number of crimes. Although there are some safeguards in place to try and be certain this doesn’t happen too often, that simply doesn’t seem to be the case.
Florida has, by far, been trying minors as adults more than any other state in the U.S. A closer look at the ways that this motion can be filed in the courts by prosecutors reveals why.